The Castle & grounds will be open to visitors from 1 April until 31 October 2010 daily (except Saturdays). 11.00am to 4.30pm 11.00am to 5.30pm (18 July - 30 August) The first guided tour is at 11.15am running at approximately 3/4 or 1/2 hour intervals thereafter, depending on the time of year. The last tour is at 3.45pm and 4.30pm in the summer holidays when we close at 5.30pm. Please note on Fridays the last tour is at 2.30pm, however the grounds including the Tea Room and Gift Shop will still be open
Tel. 01626 890 243
Powderham Castle lies in a beautiful deer park on the banks of the River Exe, just a stone's throw from the historic cathedral city of Exeter. The Castle was first opened to visitors in 1959, since then in excess of a million people have been through the doors to share in over 600 years of history and heritage and take away many fond memories.
Having survived a great deal of damage during the Civil War, the Castle was restored and altered in later centuries. These days, visitors can marvel at the breathtaking medieval grand staircase and the stunning eighteenth century music room. The original Victorian Kitchen has recently been opened to the public, so visitors can now have a glimpse of life below stairs in the Earl's household and appreciate how the 19th century kitchen would have been run.
Very little of the Castle itself has changed since those early days, but there are now many more attractions in the grounds for visitors of all ages to enjoy. This year we expect to welcome back visitors, along with many new ones, to enjoy a wonderful enchanting day out at one of the loveliest places in Devon.